Posted in Bali

Beware of Bali Belly (BB)

So my travels took me across the globe, from the bright lights of China, to the tranquil temples of Japan and beyond. It was not always smooth sailing… Next stop Bali.

I love food- can’t get enough of it, however, this was precisely my problem when I arrived in Bali. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been to China (although I couldn’t claim it was tummytrouble free), experienced the sichuan peppercorns and suspect meat, enjoyed a little too much kimchi in South Korea and went wild for brunching in Oz, so I thought I knew my limits. Bali however  is a different ball game, buffet central, I think thanks to the high numbers of hotel complexes. I’m not one for buffets, in fact I tend to avoid them, getting overwhelmed by all the choice and piling it high on my plate (as if they’ll run out of food) when I should take a more strategic approach practiced by my sister. Bali buffets were an exception.

Unfortunately however my eyes were bigger than my belly…queue Bali belly!!This lasted two whole weeks, an issue even imodium couldn’t solve, so air on the side of caution if, like me, you get carried away by new and exotic food.

Here are my recommendations of best eats/ restaurants in Ubud:

  •  Babi Guling Bu Oka (Drool worth suckling pig) (chains of these throughout Udud area) Tender pork, crispy skin, need I say more?!
  • Bebek Bengil (Dirty Duck Diner) doesn’t look like much from the front but it is a huge and pictureque restaurant on the rice terraces, surrounded with individual raised dining areas where you can enjoy an intimidate meal sitting on cushions (book ahead for this). Now after enjoying duck in it’s hometown ‘Peking’ in China this wasn’t the best duck I’ve ever had but definitely worth a visit, they really do put on a good spread! Hard to avoid those Bali bellys when served all this lovely lot…
  • Nasi Goreng… Staple in any Indonesian home and makes a rather wholesome breakfast/lunch or dinner!dav

 

 

Author:

Food fanatic taking the trots global...

Leave a Reply

